Light bulb Moments, and new Goals

It’s been a draining couple of weeks for me mentally, our usual august long weekend Kinky camping weekend has come and gone (more on that in it’s own post). I’m back at the gym 4 days a week and ramping up the intensity, and I’ve been doing a lot of reading and thinking regarding my/our Leather/S&M journey.

The province we’re in has a very small bdsm community on a whole, and an infinitesimally smaller Leather community – Two of the more prominent Leatherfolk are very very busy, between organizing events in the other city and travelling to present/visit their tribe. We’d love to get to know them, and pick their brains, but finding time is hard to do.

The reason I have been thinking about things lately actually stems from Fall From Grace (the kinky camping weekend). We were introduced to a lovely Leatherwoman from Edmonton, who knows some really cool shit. I actually discovered something I didn’t know I had an interest in at all thanks to her…. Fire. Spinning and Poi, there is a HUGE disconnect betwe en seeing it in a You Tube video, and seeing it live, hearing the whoosh, feeling the heat, it was mesmerizing to me.

Truth be told it was a lightbulb moment for me.

Lately I have been working heavily on myself, and self improvement, that other area’s have suffered. I have become complacent in my play.  This is not to say I don’t enjoy it, not at all, I wish we had more time to play more often, however that’s another post for another day.

Watching Q with her fire poi, and other assorted things she was engaged in over the weekend showed me a wider world of play that one doesn’t see often, So, when we got home from the weekend I looked up other Leatherfolk on fetlife I was already aware of, and followed them.

I notice a LARGE difference between the people I follow now and the folks from the other city…. maybe I’m just reading into things because “shiny and new people”, then again. I must admit, as satisfying as beating the hell out of someone is, I itch to be more creative in my play.

Now I know this won’t happen overnight, and Much learning about different techniques needs to take place. I also feel a little lost in terms of people…. Some things have happened in the last little while that have changed my perceptions of a lot of people, and I know from here on out nothing is going to be the same. My little fae and I have plans and goals, we wish to move forward, grow, and meet different people – the trick appears to be that we may have to look outside our province to grow as we want.

 

Just a few thoughts, jumbled as they may be.

 

Regards,

 

Syn

 

 

Leave a Reply

