BDSM: New Guard, Old Guard, and Titles.

I see many people discussing “old school” and “new school” BDSM and how things aren’t how they used to be.

Personally I think that’s why Labels are important in this lifestyle we are all part of. The new and trendy thing in BDSM  is to reject labels and be an individual, I’ve heard the statement’s “don’t tell me how to kink” and “others kink may not be your own” all too often. While this is true, it is also narrow minded and just as judgmental as those that people are supposedly rallying against. This is also why I think Labels, protocol and the “old ways” are important to acknowledge and adhere to for people claiming to be D/s couples.

To me, Dominance and submission are more than just tying people up and having your way with them, Dominant and submissives alike have agreed to act a certain way in and out of the bedroom, they have, for lack of a better descriptor, a code that they follow whatever that might be, which is in fact a form of protocol. I agreed to love, honor, protect and guide my little fae to our mutual benefit. The lessons, and punishments I choose may not be something she likes, but she defers to my judgment because it will serve our ends. She is mine, and chooses to serve me, domestically, sexually, and questioning only when clarification is needed.

I, In turn have committed to nurturing that which I see in her, encouraging, cajoling, and finally in my own way showing her just how much her submission means to me. I can be stern, loving or both in doing so, but it is part of our protocol and ritual. Above all it is my responsibility as her dominant to value that which she has given me, which including her submission, is ALL of her soul and being.

To me THAT is being a dominant. if I were simply a top or a sadist, I would be content to “take it” if I was to tell her to do something and she failed to carry out my request. Even if it were in her best interests, secure in the knowledge that our needs would be met in the bedroom. Play (or scenes) alone does not make a relationship, it is simply another form of gratification. As a top and bottom it is one half of a relationship, the corporeal half.

As someone that has recently ventured out into the community at large, I was (and am) both saddened and happy with the results, I have met some wonderful new friends who I value because of their open mindedness, and I hope by voicing my opinion they in no way take it as me undermining the relationships they have cultivated. I am saddened at the same time, because in my small community we seem to be the minority.

When my little fae originally started showing me snippets of BDSM and D/s “life”, she did so with knowledge (and experience [sorry my little fae, I know you hate that word, but it fits here]) and because of that, I had an expectation of what a basic D/s relationship should entail. I studied and read, and practiced what I learned, incorporating it into O/our dynamic, Protocol, Ritual, Discipline and Decorum.

When we finally ventured out, I was excited to talk, learn and share with like-minded people, and to a point, it is exactly what I found. What I also found, was that in terms of D/s, we were light years ahead of other D/s couples. We also found we are (were?) in the minority, the ONLY protocol and service driven couple in the community, more have joined since then, and I look forward to more still coming to our local group.

If I were coming into our group “cold”, and single, as the personality I am, I would have walked out after the first munch and likely had SERIOUS doubts as to whether or not to come back. My Kink is not only sadism, and discipline, but old school D/s. Protocol and service. A Sub for a Sir, together as both Corporeal, and a Spiritual pairing. If all you want is the physical aspect, that’s fine, I hold no ill will or judgement, your kink is not mine.

All I ask is that there is some respect left for those of us that adhere to the “old ways” of BDSM perhaps see what the Titles of dominance and submission really mean to us, and why you might be better served identifying as a Top, bottom, kinkster, or hedonist.

In the end, going forward as a whole bdsm community, we need the old, we need the new, and we need respect for both ways.

 

Regards,

 

Syn

 

7 responses to “BDSM: New Guard, Old Guard, and Titles.

  1. Very well articulated my Love. Thank You for writing this as it encompasses O/our thoughts on this subject.

  2. Lovely post. I can’t imagine not respecting anyone’s way of doing things. One thing I love is that we can customize this to fit us and make it our own. And, it can evolve as we grow.

    I wonder, do you have any suggestions for reading material or sites you recommend?

    • Thank you for commenting !

      I have quite a few places I go to for information, I had the Pleasure of “meeting” a Gentleman by the name of Mike Makai online. I follow the blog of his house here on WP (House Makai), as well as his Podcast on youtube called dominance and submission ….his Book of the same name is absolutely fantastic, and he covers things in such a way that I think old and newcomers alike can take something away from it.

      I also highly recommend a few books and FetLife Groups: the new topping book, the new bottoming book for starters, along with the Groups – “Old School” BDSM, Power Exchange Relationships, and The BDSM Academy.

      Quite honestly I would also in turn send people to your blog as well, as you are upfront and honest about your relationship with your Sir, and beautifully capture the essence of a D/s Relationship.

      Feel Free to Find my profile (Lucidsyn) on Fetlife, most of the groups I am part of have something of value, as I only “join” when I feel they are of worth to me, my little fae and our interests and goals. Minus the Geek stuff and City/province specific stuff of course. 🙂

  3. Thank you very much for the information. I appreciate your kind words about my blog, I’m humbled.

    We are at a point now where much of the rules and protocol set forth in the beginning is really second nature. It was all geared toward making our relationship a priority and establishing ourselves. So, we are thinking of ways to further deepen our relationship and meet both our needs. I figured a little research couldn’t hurt.

    Thank you again!

    • You’re very welcome, I’m always happy to share!

      Also, your approach to protocol and making time to insure the relationship comes first resonates a lot with me, we have done the same, and it is SO worth it.

  4. This encapsulates a lot of my thoughts on this topic. I was “raised” by the old school crowd and resonate strongly with kink philosophy that newer members of the community may see as archaic or old school and therefore defunct. It saddens me that it’s becoming harder to connect with like minded people around this. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a supporter of the attitude “you’re kink is not my kink, and that’s ok”, but a lot of kinksters seem to miss the essence of where that comes from and what it actually means. Like, sorry not sorry, but if you think I’ve kink shamed you, but if you’re idea of kink is trying to replace a lack of self esteem and claiming “I don’t have any limits!”; or if you’re idea of kink is insisting that strangers call you Master even though you’re 22 and only been in the community for three weeks, then we are just not going to vibe about BDSM values. I play hard, I play soft, I’ve engaged in dynamics from 24/7 near TPE high protocol to kitten play to DD/l to purely non-sexual sensual intimacy driven by psychological D/s, and various combinations of those and more, and the older I get the more dearly I value those core teachings I had from those who took me in a taught and guided me. It is frustrating, saddening and disappointing that even something as (what feels to me to be) basic as the difference between exchange of sensation and exchange of control has almost been thrown by the wayside. Around me Houses are fading away except for those that claim to be old school but actually predators preying on vulnerability and naive assumptions. Thank you for writing this. I need to see this today, and it’s comforting to know others are still out there 🙂

Leave a comment